Common Foods Containing Gluten                                                        Gluten Free Bread
The most obvious of the gluten containing products are the ones which contain wheat, barley and rye. Oats are now being listed as gluten containing due to cross contamination in their processing and crop rotating, however ‘steel-cut’ oats are safe. Below, you will find a list of the most common gluten-containing foods and ingredients. If there is ever a question on the ingredients you are using, always contact the manufacturer for allergy information. Most allergy information can be found on the manufacturer’s website as well.

-Flours and Grains: couscous, semolina, bulgur wheat, wheat berries, durum, farina, matzo meal, graham flour, spelt, kamut, orzo

-Pasta, Breads and breadcrumbs

-Beer

-Blackening spices

-Blue cheese, molds often times made with bread before adding to cheese

-Brewer’s yeast

-Custards

-Dinkle (spelt)

-Fu

-Gravy powders, sauce thickeners      

-Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), texturized vegetable protein (TVP)

-Imitation crab meat

-Licorice

-Malt vinegar, often times found in sauces and mustards

-Malted barley extract, barley syrup, malt flavoring, malted milk

-Non-dairy creamers

-Panko

-Seitan, and most vegetarian ‘meat’ products

-Smoke flavoring

-Soy sauce, teriyaki sauce

-Stocks, is commercially pruchased

-Tabouleh

-Tempura

-Tortillas

-Triticale (hybrid of wheat and rye)

-Udon noodles

-Vanilla extract, usually carried in a grain alcohol base

-Wheat grass, barley grass

-Wheat Germ, wheat germ oil

 

Gluten-Safe Grains and Cooking Ingredients                                                          Brown Rice Go Gluten Free

Many gluten-safe grains, ingredients and sauce thickeners exist. Below you’ll find a list of the most common.

-Almond flour

-Amaranth

-Arborio rice

-Arrowroot

-Artichoke flour

-Brown rice flour, white rice flour

-Buckwheat       

-Cassava

-Chickpea flour

-Coconut flour

-Corn, cornmeal, corn flour, cornstarch

-Fava bean flour

-Flaxseed meal

-Glutenous rice, glutenous rice flour

-Gram flour (besan) made of chickpeas, not to be confused with graham

-Hemp seeds, hemp flour

-Hominy

-Kasha (roasted buckwheat groats)

-Kudzu (Asian bean plant, used as a thickener)

-Millet

-Milo (Sorghum)

-Modified Corn Starch

-Modified Tapioca Starch

-Nut flours: almond, chestnut, peanut

-Potato flour, potato starch

-Quinoa

-Rice: Arborio, basmati, brown, della, enriched, glutenous, jasmine, long-grain, pearl,         polished, red, short grain, sweet, texmati, Valencia, wild

-Risotto

-Sesame flour

-Sorghum (milo)

-Soy flour

-Tapioca

-Taro flour

-Tef (grain in the millet family)



Web site designed and maintained by Canali Designs [+]